Art History Faculty

Art History Program Director: Juliet Bellow

Joanne Allen Adjunct Instructor CAS | Art

My research investigates the function, accessibility, and control of constantly evolving sacred spaces in medieval and early modern Italy. My book, Transforming the Church Interior in Renaissance Flor

  jmallen@american.edu

  (202) 885-6822

Juliet Bellow Associate Professor CAS | Art

Juliet Bellow’s research centers on visual artists' experimentations with intermediality in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Her book Modernism on Stage: The Ballets Russes and the P

  juliet.bellow@american.edu

  (202) 885-6477

Kim Butler Associate Professor CAS | Art

Professor Butler (PhD with distinction Johns Hopkins University 2003, BA with honors, Harvard University 1992) is Assistant Professor of Renaissance and Baroque Art History in American University in t

  butler@american.edu

  (202) 885-1569

Nika Elder Assoc Professor CAS - Art

Nika Elder specializes in North American art from the colonial period to the present, including African-American art and the history of photography. Her current research and courses examine the mutual

  nelder@american.edu

  (202) 885-1465

Andrea Pearson Professor and Department Chair, Art CAS | Art

Dr. Andrea Pearson specializes in the visual culture of late medieval and early modern northern Europe, with research interests pertaining to women, gender, and sexuality in the southern Low Countries

  pearson@american.edu

  (202) 885-3428

Ying-Chen Peng Associate Professor CAS | Art

Dr. Peng specializes in late imperial and modern Chinese art history with a focus on gender issues and globalization of material culture. Before joining the American University she worked at the Natio

  peng@american.edu

  (202) 885-6475

Sam Sadow Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS | Art

Sam Sadow is the Visual Resources Curator and an Adjunct Professorial Lecturer in the Art Department of American University. His roles include managing the department's growing digital image collectio

  ssadow@american.edu

  (202) 885-1675

Andrew Wasserman Professorial Lecturer CAS | Art

Andrew Wasserman specializes in late modern and contemporary art, with a focus on public art, architecture, and urban design. His current research project examines art and architecture of nuclear fear

  wasserman@american.edu

Adjunct

Jeanette Nicewinter Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS | Art

Dr. Nicewinter specializes in the art and archaeology of ancient Peru, specifically the north highland Cajamarca culture during the Middle Horizon. Her research investigates the way that Cajamarca pai

  jnicewin@american.edu

Sam Sadow Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS | Art

Sam Sadow is the Visual Resources Curator and an Adjunct Professorial Lecturer in the Art Department of American University. His roles include managing the department's growing digital image collectio

  ssadow@american.edu

  (202) 885-1675

Emerita

Norma Broude Professor Emerita CAS - Art

A pioneering feminist scholar and specialist in nineteenth-century French and Italian painting, Norma Broude is known for critical reassessments of Impressionism and the work of Degas, Caillebotte, Ca

  nbroude@american.edu

  (202) 885-1670

Mary Garrard Prof Emerita

Best known for her groundbreaking feminist scholarship, Garrard has drawn on feminist theory and activism to illuminate and reinterpret art of the Italian Renaissance-Baroque period. Her publications

  mgarrar@american.edu

Helen Langa Associate Professor CAS - Art

Professor Helen Langa  (now retired) taught a sequence of courses on American Art from the colonial era to the late 20th century with an emphasis on issues related to national identity, politics, race

  hlanga@american.edu

  (202) 885-1682