Faculty & Staff

Please see further below for Faculty | Fellows | Affiliate Faculty | Emeriti Faculty

Meltzer Schwartzberg Center for Israel Studies Leadership

Michael Brenner Distinguished Professor of History and Abensohn Chair in Israel Studies CAS | History

Michael Brenner is the Seymour and Lillian Abensohn Chair in Israel Studies and Director of AU’s Center for Israel Studies. He received his PhD at Columbia University and taught previously at Indiana

  mbrenner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2752

Associate Director

Guy Ziv Associate Professor SIS | Foreign Policy & Global Security

Dr. Guy Ziv is an associate professor in the School of International Service's U.S. Foreign Policy Program. He teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses on U.S. foreign policy, international neg

  ziv@american.edu

Faculty

Dan Arbell Scholar-in-Residence CAS | History

Dan Arbell, a scholar-in-residence at the Center for Israeli Studies at AU, is a 25 year veteran of the Israeli Foreign Service, serving in senior posts overseas in the UN, the US and Japan, and holdi

  arbell@american.edu

Boaz Atzili Associate Professor SIS | Foreign Policy & Global Security

Dr. Boaz Atzili is a political scientist who researches and teaches international politics. His interest is in international security with an emphasis on the politics of borders, borderlands and terri

  atzili@american.edu

  (202) 885-1648

Morad Elsana Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS | Critical RGC Studies

Dr. Elsana is an adjunct professor at the American University. Prior, he served as a professor of Public International Law, International Human Rights Law, and International Humanitarian Law. Dr. Elsa

  melsana@american.edu

Jeff Sosland Assistant Professor OGIS | Washington Semester Programs

Areas of Expertise: Water Politics of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, Experiential Learning - Internships and Higher EducationThe focus of Dr. Jeffrey Sosland's teaching is international b

  sosland@american.edu

  (202) 895-4922

Lauren Strauss Senior Professorial Lecturer, Dir. of Undergraduate Studies for Jewish Studies CAS | History

Dr. Lauren B. Strauss is a professor of modern Jewish history, specializing in American Jewish cultural and political history. She has taught for twenty years at universities in the Washington, D.C. a

  strauss@american.edu

Fellows

Manaswini Ramkumar Adjunct Instructor

My research interest is at the intersection of civil-military relations and comparative politics. My dissertation concerns civil-military relations in the context of democratic erosion, i.e. how do de

  mr2976a@american.edu

Efrat Yerday Scholar-in-Residence CAS | History

Efrat Yerday is an activist, writer, poet, cultural entrapreneur, and current BAMAH Visiting Artist at the Meltzer Schwartzberg Center for Israel Studies. She is the chair of Association of Ethiopian

  eyerday@american.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Erran Carmel Professor KSB | Information Technology & Analytics

Professor Carmel teaches Information Technology (I.T.). He is currently working on a number of research areas: Digital Health Passports; cybersecurity industry clusters; quantum industry clusters;

  erran.carmel@american.edu

  (202) 885-1928

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS | Philosophy/Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Jill Klein Executive in Residence

Jill Klein is an accomplished academic leader, educator, advisor, board member, and corporate executive. Throughout her career, Jill has achieved many digital firsts, transformed organizations, advoca

  (202) 885-1856

Alan Kraut Distinguished Professor CAS | History

Alan M. Kraut is University Professor of History at American University and a non-resident fellow of the Migration Policy Institute. Specializing in immigration and ethnic history and the history of m

  akraut@american.edu

  (202) 885-2410

Lisa Leff Professor CAS | History

Lisa Leff is a historian of European and Jewish history, specializing in the history of Jews in France. She is the author of Sacred Bonds of Solidarity: The Rise of Jewish Internationalism in Nineteen

  leff@american.edu

  (202) 885-2401

Erez Naaman Assoc Professor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Erez Naaman specializes in classical Arabic literature and culture. In addition, his research interests include the intellectual history of the premodern Islamic world. His scholarly work has focused

  naaman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2468

Pamela Nadell Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History CAS - History

Pamela S. Nadell holds the Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History and is Director of the Jewish Studies Program. A specialist in American Jewish history and women’s history, she teaches

  pnadell@american.edu

  (202) 885-2425

Saul Newman Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education, SPA SPA | Government

Saul Newman is the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education in the School of Public Affairs at American University in Washington, DC. He received his PhD in 1989 from the Department of Politics, Pri

  snewman@american.edu

  (202) 885-6240

Emeriti Faculty

Richard Breitman Distinguished Prof Emeritus

Richard Breitman is the author or co-author of twelve books and many articles in German history, US history, and the Holocaust. His books The Architect of Genocide: Himmler and the Final Solution (New

  rbreit@american.edu

Myra Sklarew Prof Emerita

Myra Sklarew was educated at Tufts University and the Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University. She studied bacterial viruses and genetics at Cold Spring Harbor Biological Laboratory with Salvador

  msklarew@american.edu

Russell Stone Prof Emeritus

Russell A. Stone has research and teaching interests that include development, public opinion, social change, Middle Eastern and Third World societies, and environmental sociology. He has published on

  rstone@american.edu