You are here: American University School of Communication About Dean's Board of Advisors

The School of Communication Advisory Board is responsible for advising the Dean on broad matters of priority and planning within the School. The Board is made up of alumni leaders, parents, and friends. Members currently have four main roles: as advisors, advocates, ambassadors, and philanthropic supporters of SOC and its mission.   


Jennifer Collins (SOC/BA ’94), Chair, President and CEO, JDC Events 

Meredith Aston (Parent), Pilates Instructor, Premier Pilates of Los Gatos  

Jim Brady (SOC/BA ’89), Vice President, Journalism, Knight Foundation 

Chris Bravacos (SOC/BA ’87), CEO, Bravo Group 

Alysin Camerota (SOC/BA ’88), Honorary Member, Anchor and Correspondent, CNN 

Tamir Harper (SOC/BA ‘22), Climate Manager, School District of Philadelphia 

Tyrone Harris Esq. (SOC/BA ’72, WCL/JD ’75) 

Polson Kanneth (SOC/BA ’05), Director, Special Events Booking and Senior Editorial Producer, CNN State of the Union 

Amy Lampert (SOC/BA ’94), Vice President and COO, Time Square, Inc. and Lampe, LP 

Michael Lech (Parent), CEO, ReadCo 

Derek McGinty (SOC/BA ’81), Retired, Journalist, Award-winning Interviewer, and Commentator 

Joy Thomas Moore (CAS/BA ’72, CAS/MA ’73), President at JWS Media Consulting, award-winning Writer, and Producer 

Daniel Schnur (SPA/BS ‘87), Adjunct Professor, UC Berkely, Pepperdine University, and University of Southern California 

Tambra Stevenson (SOC/PhD Candidate), Founder and CEO, WANDA: Women Advancing Nutrition Dietetics & Agriculture 

Hilarie Viener (SOC/BA ’91), Founder and Chief Growth Officer, Viener & Partners; CEO, Genuis 100 Foundation 

Amy Weiss (SOC/BA ’87), Founder and CEO, Weiss Public Affairs