You are here: American University School of Public Affairs Public Administration & Policy Charles H. Levine Fund & Lecture

Charles H. Levine Memorial Fund & Lecture

Charles H. Levine

The Charles H. Levine Memorial Fund and Lecture in Public Administration and Policy honors the life, scholarly contributions, and public service of one of the most respected public management scholars in these fields, and the first Distinguished Professor of Government and Public Administration in the School of Public Affairs (SPA) at American University.
Read the Appreciation

2024 Event

This year's Levine Lecture will be part of the Department of Public Administration and Policy Awards Night. The lecture will be delivered by Amy Ellen Schwartz.

Prior to serving as dean of the Biden School from 2022 to 2023, Amy Ellen Schwartz was professor of economics and professor of public administration and international affairs and the Daniel Patrick Moynihan Chair in Public Affairs at Syracuse University’s Maxwell School. She is also an emeritus professor of public policy, education and economics at NYU. Schwartz is a co-PI and director of transportation research for the IES-funded National Center for Research on Education Access and Choice.

Her research spans a broad range of topics in education policy and urban economics, focusing on the nexus of schools, neighborhoods and public services and the causes and consequences of children’s academic, social and health outcomes. Current IES-funded work examines the link between transportation, school choice, commuting and student outcomes using unique microdata on New York City public school children. Her NIH-funded study of childhood obesity explores the role of the built environment and the food environment, both at home and at school, providing compelling evidence about “what works” to improve student outcomes. Other work examines the impacts of housing (e.g. vouchers, public housing), neighborhood crime and special education, among others.

Previous Speakers

2023: Susan Webb Yackee

2022: David H. Rosenbloom

2021: Don Moynihan

2020: Carolyn Heinrich

2018: Carolyn J. Hill

2017: Rosemary O’Leary

2016: Barry Rabe
View the lecture on YouTube »

2015: Donald F. Kettl
Read more about the lecture »

2014: Paul C. Light
Read more about the lecture »

2013: James L. Perry

2012: Laurence Lynn

2011: Hal Rainey

2010: Kenneth Meier

PhD Student Manuscript Award Winners

2023: Xiaoyang Xu and Katie Engel

2022: Kari Dalane

2021: Joohyung Park

2019: Rui Wang

2018: Long Tram

2017: Catherine Bampoky & Beth A. Hawks

2016: Stephen Holt

2015: Matthew Vanderschuere

2014: Christopher Birdsall

2013: Katie Vinopal

2012: Michael Hayes

2011: John Marvel & Jaclyn Schede Piatak

Doctoral Research Fellowship Winners

2021: William Prince

2020: Sarah Nielsen

2019: Christopher Burks

2018: Anita Dhillion

2017: Fei Wang

2016: Zachary Bauer